Elton John | Gregg Kemp

Elton John Teams Up With Lil Nas X, Dua Lipa & More for New Collaborations Album

‘The Lockdown Sessions’ will see John sharing 16 tracks that he worked on with other artists throughout the COVID-19 pandemic.

After 18 months spent in lockdown, pop superstar Elton John is ready to show fans exactly what he’s been up to.

On Wednesday (Sept. 1), John announced the release of his forthcoming new album, The Lockdown SessionsDue out on Oct. 22 via Interscope, the new album is set to show off 16 tracks worth of collaborations with other artists that John has worked on since settling into quarantine in March 2020.

The album will feature some songs that the world has already heard, including his duet with Rina Sawayama on “Chosen Family,” and his revamp of the Pet Shop Boys’ “It’s a Sin” with Years & Years. The Lockdown Sessions will also feature 10 brand new songs, featuring stars such as Lil Nas X, Nicki Minaj, Charlie Puth, Stevie Nicks, Stevie Wonder and many more.

“The last thing I expected to do during lockdown was make an album. But, as the pandemic went on, one-off projects kept cropping up,” John said of the new album in a statement. “All the tracks I worked on were really interesting and diverse, stuff that was completely different to anything I’m known for, stuff that took me out of my comfort zone into completely new territory. And I realized there was something weirdly familiar about working like this. At the start of my career, in the late ’60s, I worked as a session musician. Working with different artists during lockdown reminded me of that. I’d come full circle: I was a session musician again. And it was still a blast.”

One of the songs on the album, “Cold Heart (PNAU Remix)” with Dua Lipa, has already made history for John. Last week, the song debuted at No. 81 on the Billboard Hot 100, marking John’s 68th entry on the chart, and his first entry in over 21 years, after his song “Someday Out of the Blue” reached No. 99 on the chart dated July 29, 2000.

The Lockdown Sessions is out Oct. 22, 2021, via Interscope. Check out the full tracklist for Elton John’s new album below:

  1. “Cold Heart (PNAU Remix),” Elton John & Dua Lipa
  2. “Always Love You,” Elton John, Young Thug & Nicki Minaj
  3. “Learn To Fly,” Surfaces feat. Elton John
  4. “After All,” Elton John & Charlie Puth
  5. “Chosen Family,” Rina Sawayama & Elton John
  6. “The Pink Phantom,” Gorillaz feat. Elton John & 6LACK
  7. “It’s a Sin,” Elton John & Years & Years
  8. “Nothing Else Matters,” Miley Cyrus feat. WATT, Elton John, Yo-Yo Ma, Robert Trujillo & Chad Smith
  9. “Orbit,” Elton John & SG Lewis
  10. ” Simple Things,” Elton John & Brandi Carlile
  11. “Beauty In The Bones,” Jimmie Allen & Elton John
  12. “One Of Me,” Lil Nas X feat. Elton John
  13. “E-Ticket,” Elton John & Eddie Vedder
  14. “Finish Line,” Elton John & Stevie Wonder
  15. “Stolen Car,” Elton John & Stevie Nicks
  16. “I’m Not Gonna Miss You,” Glen Campbell & Elton John